KGHS Hosts Successful Wrestling Championship

KGHS Hosts Successful Wrestling Championship
Posted on 02/20/2019

It was a great day for wrestling at Kenmore/Garfield this past weekend. APS combined the high school and middle school championships into one day for a fun-filled extravaganza of wrestling. The regular season champs from Litchfield were pushed to the limit by Hyre. Finishing 3rd was an improving Innes CLC followed by Jennings and Buchtel. Litchfield has now won the championship 2 consecutive years. A total of 1.5 points was the difference between first and second place. Congratulations to Davian Greenlee from Buchtel who was named the outstanding wrestler and received the Gene Calvin award named after the longtime Innes wrestling coach who was on hand for the presentation.
Special thanks to Lee Thompson and Coach Larry Chambers for their efforts putting together the tournament. Many thanks go out to the volunteers from all 5 schools and especially the Innes CLC crew for assisting with mats and concessions. Championship winners are listed below.

80- Aiden Ferguson (Hyre)  86- Michael Fisher (Innes) 92- Derek Miller  (Innes) 98- Nasier Heard  (Innes)  104- Isabella Baughman (Innes) 110- Lucas DeOliveira (Litch)  116- Carlos Johnson Jr. (Litch) 122- Kaiden Slusser (Hyre) 128- Alex Redonion (Hyre)  134- Dustin Dirden (Litch) 142- Tyell Baker (Litch) 150 - Calvaun Sturgis  (Litch) 160 - Obed West (Litch)
172 - (Brandon Carter ) 205- Larry Garrett (Innes) 245 - Xavier Kruger (Hyre)

Wrestling Action Middle School Championship

Wrestling MVP Award
Wrestling Coaching StrategyWrestling Action Middle School Championship
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.